You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

3/09/2016 1:16 pm  #1

Early Spring Trout Lakes

Hello Everyone,

I am hoping to plan a canoeing/fishing trip with my buddy to Algonquin Park for trout opener. We are hoping to be there for a few days either during the opener (April 23), or the week after (April 30). I'm relatively new to Algonquin Park and only visited once last year in the Kiosk lake area. I'm looking for any information that you can provide about fishing the park this early in the season. We also want to make a canoe trip out of it, so we are expecting portages and willing to travel good distances within the park. I recognize that many of the smaller interior lakes are often still frozen over this early in the year, but I'm wondering if you guys think this might be different this year with the relatively light winter and warm weather we are having now.

Any advice would be appreciated. 

3/09/2016 2:05 pm  #2

Re: Early Spring Trout Lakes

Good luck getting fishing information online! . Check out my trip report, blog posts and YouTube videos for hidden secrets.  General advice?  Check Jeff's map for lakes with your target fish species and head as far interior as possible.

3/09/2016 10:58 pm  #3

On the contrary I think the smaller lakes become ice-free first, others can correct me on that, but in any case for the last few years they haven't let anyone into the backcountry during the thaw until basically all lakes are ice-free. The dates you're naming were still before ice-out last couple of years but will probably be post ice-out this year.