You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

9/21/2020 2:08 pm  #1

Giardia Questions

Could someone get a Guardia infection after getting a very small amount of water in the mouth from a paddle splash when paddling in an infected pond?

9/21/2020 11:21 pm  #2

Re: Giardia Questions

I'm no scientist, but I would fall on the side of its possible.  Ingestion is required, so I guess if the concentration in that specific location is really high, and the water went down the hatch, then I suppose it could happen.  

9/22/2020 7:44 am  #3

Yes - especially if that pond is a beaver pond. It isn't something I generally worry about, but if you are wondering if the symptoms you or a companion are experiencing could be giardia, then yeah it is possible. 

9/23/2020 4:58 pm  #4

I was on a pretty gungy looking beaver pond and got no more than a quarter mouthful, which was spit out. It was pretty gross, but I worried the worst was yet to come. So far so good.

9/23/2020 8:53 pm  #5

Hi Joe, when did this occur? I think if you make it past the week+ mark without symptoms, you are golden. I'd say your chances are pretty slim based on your description. I've had giardia at least once (tested positive) but likely twice based on symptoms. The second time I didn't bother to get tested as it went away on its own after about 5 days. Not the most fun thing to suffer through, but mercifully it's only temporary, and modern medicine works well with it if needed 

Last edited by hiker72 (9/23/2020 8:54 pm)

9/23/2020 9:00 pm  #6

It happened Sunday. I think I'll be good. I've heard the horror stories so I'm just being a little nervous I guess.

9/29/2020 7:59 am  #7