You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

3/23/2017 11:57 am  #1

Canoe Tumpline

Going to try a canoe tumpline this year, probably going to use it in conjunction with a yoke (instead of a thwart).  I already let the yoke slide down my back, between myself and my barrel pack when the pain gets too much, this puts the weight on my shoulder straps.  Adding a tumpline line to the mix doesn't seem like much of a leap...

Although I've used tumps before on packs, this is a first with a canoe, I'm looking for tips, stories or any other advice about canoe tumps before the snow melts and I start getting crafty....

3/23/2017 7:29 pm  #2

Re: Canoe Tumpline

Hey Kurt!

Ive been using a leather tump on my trips for 10 years now and cannot imagine portaging without it now.

It takes some messing around with to get it right but once you do, oh man its a dream (as close as portaging a canoe can get to a dream haha).

I use a one I made out of inch width veg tanned leather for the tails brass riveted to a wider piece of leather I cut and tapered for the headband.

When I tie it to the yoke I use a clove hitch on each side and the grip is plenty. I tend to tie it at the mid point between the end of the curve of the yoke and where it attaches to the gunwale, this way I can slid the clove hitch with one hand towards or away from the contour in the yoke to make fine adjustments while walking.

The extra length of the tails gets tied to the front seat and I hang them low enough so I can use them for stability with my arms pretty much at my side (so no numb shoulders)

The beauty of a tump (for me anyway) Is you can shift the load of the canoe from your neck to your shoulders when your neck gets tired and then back to your neck once your shoulders get tired. I went from being able to go about 750m-1 km with my 55 lb canoe before needing a rest to walking a 2km portage without stopping and without much pain.