You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

2/01/2017 9:24 am  #1

Stoves

Hi there,
I'm in the market for a new stove. My old peak 1 has given the ghost. Currently trying to decide between msr dragonfly and primus omnifuel. We do a fair bit of late summer and fall camping. Have always been impressed with primus stoves, love the roar,but haven't had one in 20 years. Anyone out there wanna give me your impressions of either stove being used in the field? Pros and cons and anything else helpful appreciated. I like the ability to handle larger pots, as I'm a bit of a cook and good food is important for us, as well as the stoves ability to simmer. Hot spotting not an issue, have a diffuser plate.  Bringing liquid fuel is not a deterrent for us, but efficient burning is. The peak one was truly hopeless in that.
Thanks,
Wanda

2/01/2017 10:03 am  #2

Re: Stoves

I have a Dragonfly and have been using it for a couple of years now as the main stove for my crew.  Pros are it is very stable and can handle large pots and skillets.  It also allows you to control the flame so you can have it roaring to boil water or on a lower flame output to simmer your risotto for example.  The only con I have with respect to it is that it does indeed "roar"...it's a jet engine but if that doesn't bother you then the Dragonfly would be a good choice.

2/01/2017 10:11 am  #3

We have an MSR Whisperlite and it's served us well for going on 8 years now (we do 2-6 trips/year). 

I know that Dragonfly has a bigger base than the Whisperlite for more stability but I've never run into problems with the stability of the whisperlite. It handles a full 2.5L pot without any wobbliness. 

For efficiency, I don't have anything to compare it to but we only have a small fuel bottle (325mL MSR) and we usually come home with about 1/3 of it left over (avg 4 day trip with 2 people, only using it for all breakfasts and 1/2 dinners).