You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

3/07/2019 3:20 pm  #1

looking for advice planning three day route

Hi everyone! This is my first time on this forum, and I am impressed with the generous sharing of advice and information.  I’m looking for advice for trip planning for a first visit to Algonquin. We will be a group of six and we are very excited. We are looking forward to solitude, wilderness, wildlife, a little fishing.

We plan to rent canoes and pack our gear on Thursday, Aug 15, and be ready to launch Friday morning, though I can’t guarantee it will be at the crack of dawn!  Some of our group has be at the Toronto airport before 3PM on Monday Aug 19, so Sunday night we should camp within a two hour paddle of our cars.

We range in age from 30 to 65, but we are all physically fit, many of us have backpacked for many years, and we all went on a three day canoe trip last summer, where we enjoyed paddling about 8 miles/ 4 hours a day. We like the 4 hours a day paddling and portaging, having the afternoon to relax, be in the woods and on the water, and fish. (Catching fish would be great but is not essential.) We’re hoping to do single carries but are not sure if we can, especially for longer portages. We will be bringing two pack boats (solo) and renting two canoes.

We have two possible trips in mind and wonder if anyone has advice for us.

First plan:
Put in at Rain, go through Sawyer, Jubilee, Juan, camp at Moccasin or Bandit, maybe explore some of the lakes nearby after setting up camp.
Day two, paddle through Wenona, Muslim, Misty (lunch on Misty?) and camp at Little Misty.  
Day three, paddle along Petawawa, through Daisy, camp at Casey.  
Monday, paddle out through Rain.

We spoke to an outfitter who thought that was not a good plan, that the campsite at Little Misty is not good, and the Petawawa could be very low and difficult by mid August.  Also the trip back to the airport would be long from Rain.