You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

9/22/2018 1:01 pm  #1

APP Lake Opeongo to Whiskey Jack Lake and back. 9.15 to 21.2018

APP Lake Opeongo to Whiskey Jack Lake and back. 9.15 to 21.2018

Recently back from an out and back, solo, with my new 28 #, Kevlar, 13' pack canoe, 2008, Langford Canoe, Solitude, made 2001 to 2010, primarily sold in USA, 7 day, spectacular, interior canoe trip in Algonquin Provincial Park, Saturday, September 15 to Friday, September 21, 2018 via Access Point 11, Lakes Opeongo, Happy Isle (2 nights, 15, 20, the 20th night on the island, west side), Merchant, Big Trout (16, 19, two different island sites, 16th where my son, David, and I camped 10 years earlier, our names and date still carved into the log bench), Longer, Petawawa River, Red Pine Bay, Burntroot Lake (17, 18, 2 nights, same site, point, east side), Robinson, Whiskey Jack.

This is my first time doing this route. (I've never done the same canoe route twice, other than one I did first in the 1970's, re-done in 2010.) Top drawer it is. Out and backs are not boring as the views are different and in some cases coming back is dramatically different in some locations regarding route familiarity. Be certain to have a reliable map and compass. I was last in this area 10 years ago with my son, David, on Big Trout via Access Point 3, while out for a tandem 10 day canoe trip in mid to late July, 2008, great fun.

I did not spend any meaningful time fishing as I was on the move each day between 9 to 10 AM and 6 to 7 PM. Sunrise 7 AM, Sunset 7 PM. I did spend a lot of time canoeing, exploring historical areas of interest, swimming morning and evening, and of course everything related to setting up, taking down camp, preparing meals, gathering firewood, purifying water, reading and more, all great fun.