You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

3/29/2018 8:34 am  #1

getting in shape for the upcoming canoe/ Kayak season

Looking for some tips on getting ready for my first paddle / portage trip in early May. I am fairly new to the scene and was wondering if most of you guys /gals follow the old school hockey training camp style (get in shape during your first trip) or do you follow a simulation style off season routine ?

3/29/2018 9:30 am  #2

Re: getting in shape for the upcoming canoe/ Kayak season

hi r2
   i am a bike rider, that seems to help me get along the portages in algonquin. great old rail bed trails all over peterborough county.  i hit every other day.
   i do several types of planks every day, helps with the core, and lower back. plenty of examples on line. i also do push ups every day, several times day building up to more reps, helps my paddling. 
i eat greek yogurt for the protein to help heal the micro tears from exercising. drink chocolate milk to refuel, more protein.
  i have no sympathy for people that do not take the time to ice a injury. ice really helps cool down hot shots from working out. especially if you are just starting out. it seems like a hassle , but it only take a few minutes . several days after icing switch to heat. 
 above all ,listen to your body. know when to quite.  be sure to start off slowly. every other day gives your muscles a chance to heal, before you go at it again.
  check with your dr. before you start. 
    just climb some stairs.

3/29/2018 11:12 am  #3

I have no issues cardio-wise but I notice that it takes a few times in the spring with a canoe on my head to refine the mental aspect of my portage game. 

3/29/2018 11:15 am  #4

Trail hiking with a pack and ankle weights makes future portages painless.

3/29/2018 4:08 pm  #5

I run all winter and into spring, about 50km a week, right up until a few days before my first camping trip of the year.