You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

2/18/2018 5:29 pm  #1

Paddling across algonquin west to east

I no it is only febuary but i will sleep better at night if i new my plans. Looking to paddle across algonquin this spring maybe summer. West to east is what i was hoping and take in the factor i have no white water experience. I can take as long as i want. Any suggestions. Im looking to for a nice big trip this year.

YG2D

2/18/2018 8:13 pm  #2

Re: Paddling across algonquin west to east

Is there a specific reason for west to east direction?  Do you want a north of 60 route or south of 60? I have paddled from Galeairy to Oxtongue lake.  Pretty much followed  60 via the Madawaska  and Oxtongue rivers. Upstream on the Mad but isn't much of a current for most of it. Of course we did it in august so spring could be different.  You could also stay south of 60 at smoke and use the low maintenance  route toward park lake. There's a good stretch on the Madawaska without interior camping. However there's a few campground you could access along there too.  This route could be hustled in a couple Days or stretched out nice over a week. We enjoyed beers and a good meal at Canoe lake on our way through lol. Enjoy your planning.

2/18/2018 8:18 pm  #3

I recall that MartinG did this a couple of years ago. You could check with him for ideas.

2/18/2018 8:39 pm  #4

My Husband and I also went west to east across the park in 2015. We started at Mag and stayed on the following. Misty, Big Trout, Red Rock, Crow Bay, Little Dickson, North Branch and Green Leaf. That being said I would definitely take a few extra days if I was doing it again. There are lakes I paddled and have no real memory of oh and we forgot the camera.